It recent times I have been finding myself more and more on the threshold of Panendeism. My sense of reason has been pointing towards it, and I can no longer ignore it. So that my readers (all seven of you) can get a better understanding of me and my religious beliefs, I’ve decided to write about what leads me towards Panendeism.  The path was broken by my problems with divine intervention and my personal belief in the idea of not assigning limits to God.

Why wouldn’t God intervene in the universe? The question drove me towards Pandeism. It provided me with a satisfactory explanation: God is the universe, so, in a sense, he is all action in the universe, so the difference between regular occurrences and divine intervention is non-existent. But something bugged me about Pandeism. Something I only recently discovered.

It assigns a limit on God’s creative power. If God could create a universe from himself, he then should be able to create more. It limits God to one universe. I disagree with assigning limits, or even most attributes to God. It seems like a poor choice to limit God’s existence by assigning him qualities that, at a fundamental level, we can’t even be sure he has. This led me away from Pandeism towards Panendeism. It leaves open the idea of multiple universes. It assigns no limitations to God.

Though, if you are worried that I’m going to change my blog, stop. I still identify as a Deist, with Panendeism being more of a specific part of my extended belief system. I do hope to write more about it in the future, and welcome any discussion or questions you might have.


K. Mapson
9/3/2013 03:55:19 am

Here's the question: why do these asserted limitations bug you?

Is it because you want there to be multiple universes?

Is it because you have actual evidence of multiple universes?

Pandeism is a theological model deriving from logical examination of our Universe. It is scrupulous in its dismissal of all assertions that are not logically necessary to account for proof provided. Pandeism does not declare that it is impossible for there to be other Universes, it simply requires proof of such a thing before assuming that they indeed exist. Pandeism does not declare that it is impossible for a Creator to set forth ten or ten thousand or ten trillion universes; it simply requires proof that other universes exist before assuming that our Creator had such power. And if as many universes do provably exist, Pandeism would still explain them, all of them, as our Creator having wholly become them, unless there is some actual item of proof that our Creator or some part of our Creator continues to exist apart from the Creation itself -- whether this Creation manifests in one Universe or countless numbers of them.

Blessings!!

Steve
9/7/2013 04:31:31 am

Rebuttal to the point and accurate. Well said.

Panendeist
9/7/2013 01:34:25 pm

I have no specific evidence or feelings towards the multiverse. But, think about it from the point of view of God. You can become the universe alone, or be both the universe and an independent being. I ultimately do not know which God would "choose" but the Panendeist option leaves god with higher capabilities and more options with what he is able to do. I don't assert limits upon God because I feel that as humans, we don't really know what those limits are. God is, essentially, the most powerful being that is and could ever be, so I feel that it would be incorrect to place limits on God. Pandeism asserts that God is only the universe, and Panendeism asserts that God the universe and more. Panendeism just seems like the more reasonable model for understanding God to me.

K. Mapson
9/7/2013 01:51:53 pm

I very much appreciate your so thinking. Blessings!!


Comments are closed.