League of Legends

2/24/2014

 
Did you think I was kidding when I said I wanted to make religious discussion more accessible to non-intellectuals? If you don't play League of Legends, I'm going to warn you that this post may seem a bit like gibberish to you. 

MOBAs are a pretty interesting culture. In fact, I'd argue that they have pretty close parallels to religion. Everybody thinks that there way of playing is the one and only correct way to play, they blame those who do not follow that one way of playing for all of their problems, scapegoats of all kinds are abundant, and those who choose poorly are, of course, the worst of the worst. One of the most obvious examples is in the jungler.

Recently, one of my friends told me that they wanted to learn how to play. I agreed, because my clan was in need of a jungler. So, I set up a smurf  and queued up with him. I told him  everything I knew about jungling and how I though junglers should work. At this point, it might be hard to guess where I'm going, so I'll be direct: This is about indoctrination.

So, my friend CHOSE to have me impart my values (such as camping mid) onto him. When it comes to religion, very few people have a choice in what religion they are taught from an early age .  What makes the sort of "indoctrination" that I did acceptable was the element of free will. Nobody forced my friend t listen to my speech about why ganking bot is never, ever a good idea. Religious and political indoctrination are ingrained into our society to the point where we don't even think about it, but that doesn't make it acceptable. Let those who seek the opinions of others get those opinions, and let those who choose to balze their own path do so.



Comments are closed.